“Arise, shine; for thy light is come, and the glory of the Lord is risen upon thee. For, behold, the darkness shall cover the earth, and gross darkness the people: but the Lord shall arise upon thee, and his glory shall be seen upon thee. And the Gentiles shall come to thy light, and kings to the brightness of thy rising. Lift up thine eyes round about, and see: all they gather themselves together, they come to thee: thy sons shall come from far, and thy daughters shall be nursed at thy side. Then thou shalt see, and flow together, and thine heart shall fear, and be enlarged; because the abundance of the sea shall be converted unto thee, the forces of the Gentiles shall come unto thee.” – Isaiah 60:1-5

LIGHT FOR NOW: If you want to have a sound ability of bible understanding, read the bible in a systematic order.

In observing Jesus’ mode of scriptural interpretation, we began observing his words in Luke 24:25-27 which reads “Then he said unto them, O fools, and slow of heart to believe all that the prophets have spoken: Ought not Christ to have suffered these things and to enter into his glory? And beginning at Moses and all the prophets, he expounded into them in all the scriptures the things concerning himself”. Note again, the sequence as stated clearly in verse 27:

  • Moses (that is, Genesis through to Deuteronomy) and
  • All the prophets (Joshua down to Malachi).

One cannot aim to ignore Moses (Genesis to Deuteronomy) and aim to understand Joshua to Malachi. The context of Joshua to Malachi will be Genesis to Deuteronomy. Genesis to Deuteronomy is the foundation of doctrine. Look at Jesus’ reading and teaching syllabus: Moses and all the prophets. That is why Moses can be referred to as the foundation and father of doctrine. If you miss Moses’ teaching note (Genesis to Deuteronomy), you have missed the whole bible. All biblical doctrine (inclusive of the New Testament, even the epistles of Paul, Peter, etc); all of them find its root in Moses’ teaching note. This systematic order of bible reading is so important that still in chapter 24 of Luke, when Jesus now had a wider audience (his disciples), he repeated the same thing he said in verse 27 in verse 44 but he, however, used a different start; it reads, “And he said unto them, these are the words which I spake unto yiu, while I was yet with you, that all things must be fulfilled which were written in the Law of Moses, and in the prophets, and in the Psalms concerning me”. Again, it’s the same sequence here, even though the Psalms is uniquely pointed out but it still falls under the category of the prophets. Moses and all the prophets was Jesus’ sequence of reading. That should also be your sequence of reading. Hallelujah!

INSTRUCTION: Follow Jesus’ sequence of reading.

PRAYER: The eyes of my understanding are enlightened, in Jesus Name, Amen.

QUOTE: Sequentially reading the bible will help you a lot in understanding and interpretation.


Published by lightfromtheworddevotional

Light from the word is a scripture based daily devotional by Prophet (Dr.) John Linus, Senior Pastor Word of Faith Covenant Assembly Uyo, Akwa Ibom State.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: